Meritorious Instructors

The Crisis Prevention Institute (CPI) has announced eight certified MAPA® Instructors that have been inducted into the CPI HALL OF MERIT in 2017 as Meritorious Instructors.  There are 1800 certified instructors in the UK and Europe and just 15 have been awarded this honour. 

The meritorious award is not only based on the number of training courses delivered or participants trained, but reflects a continuous and ongoing commitment to restraint reduction and the support of the Care, Welfare, Safety and Security of all through the delivery of high quality MAPA® training and staff development.

We rely on certified instructors to be the leaders within their organisations and across their professions to provide practice-based evidence, highlighting improvements in care and safety through the use of the skills promoted in MAPA® training. We commend the leaders of the organisations for their commitment to quality staff development in this important area.

The class of 2017 collect their awards.

Our Meritorious Instructors are:

Anne Brannigan Belfast Health & Social Care Trust
Denis Doherty East London NHS Foundation Trust
Steve Garvey Worcestershire Health & Care NHS Trust
Nick Horne Cygnet Hospital (Bury)
Lisa Jones Coventry & Warwickshire NHS Trust
Denise Kennedy Community Integrated Care
Mandy MacDonald Community Integrated Care
Regina O'Donovan Brothers of Charity
Damien O'Kane Belfast Health & Social Care Trust
Anji Page Sense
Tara Patterson Belfast Health & Social Care Trust
Luke Perry Voyage Care
Jacqui Reeves Surrey County Council
Jim Simpson Voyage Care
Auliki Yliniva Laurea University, Finland

For more information contact us on or call +44 (0)161 929 9777.